Edinburgh Business School & School of Social Sciences

The School of Social Sciences (SoSS) is one of five schools at the academic heart of Heriot-Watt. It is composed of around 150 academic and 30 research staff distributed across three units: the Edinburgh Business School (EBS); the Department of Psychology (around 30 academic staff); and the Department

of Languages and Intercultural Studies (around 15 academic staff). The EBS is divided into seven subject areas: HR & Law, Operations Management & Logistics, Marketing, Accounting, Economics, Finance, and Strategy & Enterprise.

The School of Social Sciences, including EBS, is a major contributor to the success of the University. It is the largest in terms of income (nearly £60M in 2020/21), students and global footprint – it is present in Dubai, Malaysia & Scotland, and is home to more than 10,000 students across around 180 countries through the EBS on-line MBA, which was launched 25 years ago, and our growing HW-Online business. It is also home to around 470 PGR students, with nearly 400 of these studying remotely.

The Edinburgh Business School, which is the largest business school in Scotland, is growing rapidly, and there are plans to accelerate this growth into the future. There are also plans to double the size of Psychology, including through the provision of courses and programmes via HW-Online.